Image

Home brewing with Brooklyn Brew Shop

27 Dec

20131225_134457I know it’s probably been close to a year that i’ve had my home brewing kit my uncle gave me from the Brooklyn Brew Shop and i’ve talked about how I would be brewing soon, but I finally did it! I’m so proud of myself. This Jewish girl spent her Christmas brewing her own beer with her dad and this really good looking guy I know. After reading the instructions I remembered why I waited so long to attempt this feat. It literally took hours. I started around 1:30 p.m. and finished around 5:30 p.m. Granted it takes an hour to mash and an hour to boil, it should have only taken about 3 hours. But, because I had no clue what I was doing, and because I didn’t have all the right tools (I had to use cheese cloth to drain the grain after mashing because my strainers holes were too large which took SO LONG) it took exponentially longer that expected.

It’s not really that complicated of a process, it just takes time. I’ll give the 20131225_165625simplified version. First you have to sanitize everything because the yeast is touchy and you don’t want germs messing up your beer. Then you start with stirring the grain in some water and mashing it for an hour, stirring every ten minutes all while making sure it stays at a certain temperature (no, you can’t just set it and forget it). Then you strain the grain out, twice, adding more water the second time. Then you boil it for an hour adding in hops (which looked like weird rabbit pellets) about every 15 minutes. Then you strain it again and bring the temperature down in an ice bath. When that’s all done you put it in a jug with the yeast, shake it and insert the tube to let the gasses escape.

20131226_082540Now i’m waiting two days until I can change the tube in the jug to the fancy aerator thing which will then sit in a cool dark place for two weeks. It makes about a gallon of beer so it’s not really that much for quite a bit of work. But i’m sure it will be the best tasting beer i’ve ever made. The gallon kits are only $40 on their website and they have some interesting flavors like Jalapeno Saison in case you’re interested in making some yourself.

One Response to “Home brewing with Brooklyn Brew Shop”

  1. stillbrewin1 January 6, 2014 at 6:07 am #

    Hello! I have been home brewing for about 15 years now, and your post brings back great memories from when I first started brewing and distilling. Now when I go to Shanghai, I go to my friend Mike’s house. He is a retired chemical engineer and now he has a home brewing business. Just before Christmas we made a double IPA that turned out great! What I am saying is dont worry it will turn out to be a great beer, if not try again because it is a lot fun especially when it does turn out and your friends find out that you brewed it.
    Good Luck!
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

