Cocoa di Vine

2 Oct

I am finishing off a bottle of Cocoa di Vine that I also bought in Tarpon Springs at Wine at the Docks shop. It’s the best chocolate wine i’ve ever tasted, but the only other brand i’ve had is Chocovine which was just awful. It’s from a winery in Washingtonville, NY so it may be possible to find this one at grocery stores and liquor stores. This one basically tastes like chocolate milk with just a little bite, more like there is vodka in it than wine. It was $15.99 and has 14% ABV. The bottle doesn’t say what kind of grapes are in it but their website says it’s a blend of white wine.

It’s interesting that the label says there is cream in it but it doesn’t require it to be refrigerated. I actually bought it non-refrigerated. But it does say serve chilled and I think the cooler the better. I even put ice cubes in my glass. My theory is the cooler it gets the smoother it goes down, but that could just be my imagination.

It’s a little pricey so it’s something i’d only buy if I was in the mood for it, but it is delicious. It makes a great desert wine and i’m tempted to buy more and try to make a milkshake.

Leave a Reply

