Orlando Brewing

2 Apr

This Saturday I decided to stop by Orlando Brewing’s taproom since I was in the area checking out some art downtown. All of their house-made brews are 100% USDA certified organic which is always nice. I think that because of that their prices are a little higher than a normal beer. A flight of 4 3oz pours of different beers is $6 and a flight of 8 3oz pours is $12. I bought the $12 flight so I could try more of their beers. I tried the Pale Ale, Blonde Ale, Red Ale, Brown Ale, Olde Pelican (pale ale), Blackwater Porter, European Pilz, Maibock and Miami Weiss.

My favorite was the Blackwater Porter. It had a deep chocolate taste, almost like a dark chocolate. I think I have a preference for porters and stouts because of their tendency to taste chocolaty. My boyfriend said he wasn’t impressed with their ales, they didn’t have enough hop to represent what a traditional ale should taste like. I wonder if that has something to do with the fact that their brews are all organic. We both thought the Blonde Ale and the Miami Weiss tasted buttery. The Blonde Ale tasted like buttered popcorn, it was very interesting. 

The atmosphere of the taproom was very chill with dart boards and a small area for a stage where they have performances sometimes. I didn’t stick around for a free tour that they do every Monday through Saturday at 6 p.m. but I would like to go back to check it out.

Leave a Reply

