Kosher wines

15 Dec

I wanted to know more about what made a wine kosher so I decided to share with you what I learned. According to All Holy Land Wines, in Hebrew “kosher” means fit or proper and is used to describe food prepared according to Jewish dietary laws. The laws don’t prohibit the use of specific wine styles, grape varieties or origin.

Kosher law for wine making requires the following points:

1. Equipment used to make the wine is used exceptionally for producing kosher products.

2. Only Sabbath observing Jews can handle the wine from grape crushing to consumption, unless the wine is Mevushal (pasturized). According to Passover Wines, to be considered mevushal, a wine must be heated to 185 degrees F. Mevoshel (pasturization) alters the flavor of the wine. Modern usage of this process assures that the wine remains unaffected.

3. Only certified kosher products (yeast, filtering agents, etc.) can be used. 

“The perception that Kosher wines are sweet is due largely to historical circumstances, having nothing to do with Kosher supervision. The Concord grape, the only avaliable sort of grape for Jewish immigrants arriving in New York area, is an acid grape which must be balanced with sugar to be enjoyed as sweet wine. With time, this fact was accepted by Kosher.”

That answers my question from my previous post. Kosher wine isn’t traditionally sweet but it is something that has become accepted over time. Maybe I would enjoy traditional kosher wines more than their sweetened counterparts. 


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: